A Place that I Called “Home"

yundaily
2 min readJan 23, 2022

--

There is this place, a coffee shop, far away from the city, that I visited once when my heart has been broken by a man, who I thought would never hurt me

It was Sunday, and it was raining when I wandered out of the city while my eyes couldn’t stop crying, that I needed to find shelter so I decided to come here

I've been wanting to come here since its grand opening, and when I drove closer to this coffee place on that gloomy Sunday, I thought "this is it, it's the time I calm myself here"

It’s a two story building, where we can place our order on the fisrt floor, and a spacious room to sit and talk on the second floor. There are many set of wicker chairs and a round table that fills the room

It was only me and some couples occupying the spacious second floor. The air conditioner was cold, but I felt warm inside. It was like finally I find some peace for myself, after draining conversation with this man who has just broken my heart

After settling myself into a corner, with a glass of iced palm sugar coffee, my sadness washed away by the coldness of my coffee, and the chill room. I thought I was gonna cry again, but I didn’t. It felt like a nice getaway, only with me and myself

After that day, I come here often when I feel tired with my life, when I need to get away from the crowd of the city, from the loud noises my neighborhood made every single day that frustrated me; every single reason that made me want to run away, I always come here

Maybe I can become a regular here, or I even already make myself one. This place really feels like home

A home I can come to every time to heal my broken heart

A home for every thoughts in my head

A home for myself

--

--